Grand Theatre, Swansea

Sporting a brand new Arts Wing, the Grand Theatre is a large venue that hosts an eclectic mix of comedy, theatre, music and family-friendly events.

Filters

Genre
Theatre
Musicals
Family Theatre
Gigs
Tribute Bands
Chart & Pop Music
Comedy
Dance & Ballet
Rock, Indie & Alternative
Plays
Country & Folk
Electronic/EDM
Jazz
Clubs
Hip-Hop
Disco
Hard Rock & Metal
Date
Choose dates
16 November 2018
November 2018
Mo
Tu
We
Th
Fr
Sa
Su
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
Price Range
£0
£0
£250
£250

Friday, 16th November 2018
Saturday, 17th November 2018
Wednesday, 21st November 2018
Friday, 23rd November 2018
Saturday, 24th November 2018
Monday, 26th November 2018
Tuesday, 27th November 2018
Wednesday, 28th November 2018
Thursday, 29th November 2018
Saturday, 1st December 2018
Monday, 3rd December 2018
Tuesday, 4th December 2018
Wednesday, 5th December 2018
Thursday, 6th December 2018
Friday, 7th December 2018
Saturday, 8th December 2018
Friday, 14th December 2018
Saturday, 15th December 2018
Sunday, 16th December 2018
Tuesday, 18th December 2018
Wednesday, 19th December 2018
Thursday, 20th December 2018
Saturday, 22nd December 2018
Sunday, 23rd December 2018
Monday, 24th December 2018
Wednesday, 26th December 2018
Thursday, 27th December 2018
Friday, 28th December 2018
Saturday, 29th December 2018
Sunday, 30th December 2018
Wednesday, 2nd January 2019
Thursday, 3rd January 2019
Friday, 4th January 2019
Saturday, 5th January 2019
Sunday, 6th January 2019
Tuesday, 8th January 2019
Wednesday, 9th January 2019
Thursday, 10th January 2019
Friday, 11th January 2019
Saturday, 12th January 2019
Sunday, 13th January 2019
Thursday, 17th January 2019
Saturday, 19th January 2019
  • 1

About Grand Theatre

Sporting a brand new Arts Wing, the Grand Theatre is a large venue that hosts an eclectic mix of comedy, theatre, music and family-friendly events. It specialises in disseminating work from up-and-coming artists, as well as offering many exhibitions, special events and fringe shows from established stand-up comedians.

The Grand Theatre has a strong affiliation with the world of ballet. From 1999, it has been the home of Ballet Russe, who in the past have produced stunning performances of Giselle, The Nutcracker and more. It also houses the Sir Harry Secombe Trust Youth Theatre, connecting with young people through a series of workshops for the performing arts.

The Arts Wing generally holds smaller productions and exhibitions, as well as regular events such as Lunchtime Theatre, burlesque nights and comedy clubs. The main auditorium in the theatre is much larger, seating over 1,000 spectators and hosting up to 400 events a year. There are also a series of functions rooms and extra spaces in the venue.

The latest developments to the Grand Theatre flaunt an art deco style, yet modern, state-of-the-art facilities. It originally opened just before the 20th century by local opera star, Adelina Patti. It hosted many events over the years, and saw the likes of Ivor Novello, Sir Henry Irving and Forbes Robertson take the stage. Despite its success, the theatre faced closure during the late 60s, even transforming into a cinema for over a decade to cater to changing cultural demands. Thankfully, the theatre received investments and with the addition of the new wing, opened by the Welsh Hollywood actress, Catherine Zeta Jones, it began to thrive again.

By Car:
The Quadrant multi-storey car park is available for use by theatre patrons, with the first hour free when your ticket is validated in our premises by one of our front of house staff. There is also an open-air pay and display car park in Singleton Street at the front of the theatre, which has limited spaces.

By Bus:
The main Swansea Bus Station is conveniently located directly behind the theatre.

By Train:
Swansea Train Station is situated in High Street. From here there is a regular bus service to the Quadrant Bus Station alongside the theatre.

  • Grand Theatre, Singleton St, Swansea SA1 3QJ, UK
  • Capacity 1000

loading...