Palace Theatre, London

Located at the intersection between Charing Cross Road and Shaftesbury Avenue, the Palace Theatre is a large red-brick structure that stands out amongst most other buildings.

Filters

Date
Choose dates
12 December 2018
December 2018
Mo
Tu
We
Th
Fr
Sa
Su
26
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
Price Range
£0
£0
£250
£250

Wednesday, 12th December 2018
Thursday, 13th December 2018
Saturday, 15th December 2018
Sunday, 16th December 2018
Wednesday, 19th December 2018
Thursday, 20th December 2018
Saturday, 22nd December 2018
Sunday, 23rd December 2018
Thursday, 27th December 2018
Saturday, 29th December 2018
Sunday, 30th December 2018
Wednesday, 2nd January 2019
Thursday, 3rd January 2019
Saturday, 5th January 2019
Sunday, 6th January 2019
Wednesday, 9th January 2019
Thursday, 10th January 2019
Saturday, 12th January 2019
Sunday, 13th January 2019
Wednesday, 16th January 2019
Thursday, 17th January 2019
Saturday, 19th January 2019
Sunday, 20th January 2019
Wednesday, 23rd January 2019
Thursday, 24th January 2019
Saturday, 26th January 2019
Sunday, 27th January 2019
Wednesday, 30th January 2019
Thursday, 31st January 2019
Saturday, 2nd February 2019
Sunday, 3rd February 2019
Wednesday, 6th February 2019
Thursday, 7th February 2019
Saturday, 9th February 2019
Sunday, 10th February 2019
Wednesday, 13th February 2019
Thursday, 14th February 2019
Saturday, 16th February 2019
Sunday, 17th February 2019
Wednesday, 20th February 2019
Thursday, 21st February 2019
Saturday, 23rd February 2019
Sunday, 24th February 2019
Wednesday, 27th February 2019
Thursday, 28th February 2019
Saturday, 2nd March 2019
Sunday, 3rd March 2019
Wednesday, 6th March 2019
Thursday, 7th March 2019
Saturday, 9th March 2019
  • 1

About Palace Theatre

Located at the intersection between Charing Cross Road and Shaftesbury Avenue, the Palace Theatre is a large red-brick structure that stands out amongst most other buildings. With a capacity of 1,400 seats spread across four levels, the Palace Theatre is one of the larger venues on the West End.

The spectacular building dates back to 1891, originally constructed as The Royal English Opera House. It opened with a production of Arthur Sullivan’s ‘Ivanhoe’, which proceeded to run for over 150 performances. However, the Opera House wasn’t too successful and later transformed into the Palace Theatre of Varieties a year later. Charles Morton aka the 'Father of Music Halls' became the new managing director, and turned the Palace into an exciting and popular entertainment venue.

The venue now comprises a large amphitheatre, encompassing the Stalls, Dress Circle, Grand Circle and Balcony. The stalls bar has been renovated to its former glory, when it served as an elegant spot for sipping champagne for the elite of the Oscar Wilde days. Today’s Palace patrons can also marvel at the majestic Grand Staircase and inner lobby, exquisitely decorated and the first thing you see upon entering the building.

Its varied programme over the years lured many to its stage. Musical legend Fred Astaire performed in ‘Gay Divorce’ before leaving London for Hollywood and British actress Dame Judi Dench starred in ‘Cabaret’ in 1968. A host of well-known musicals have delighted audiences, such as Andrew Lloyd Webber and Tim Rice’s ‘Jesus Christ Superstar’, which ran for eight years, and the award-winning ‘Harry Potter and the Cursed Child’, an adaptation taken from J. K. Rowling’s 8th installment of the famed children’s series.

By Tube:
The theatre is close to both Leicester Square and Covent Garden tube stations, which link to National Rail services.

By Bus:
Several routes run through Shaftesbury Avenue, including the 14, 19, 24, 29, 38, 40 and 176.

By Car:
The nearest available car park is the Q-Park in Chinatown.

  • Palace Theatre, Palace Theatre, Shaftesbury Ave, London W1D 5AY
  • Capacity 1400

loading...